Sunday, 26 January 2014

Kaspar Bennett wins the Leicester Open

Bristols Kaspar Bennett shown why he is Number 1 in England and 4th in the World, with a fantastic display at the 2014 International Open.

Defeating some high standard players along the way in Bradley, Varney, Lampitt and a fantastic final against Dave Pawsey.

The Open category was streamed live across the World, but due to an Air Conditioning problem, The camera work for the final was produced by Matt Lampitt.

In the Veteran category, it was top Belgium, Daniel Scheen who overcome Luis Mendez 3-1 in the final.

On the U15′s scene, Manchester TFC player Connor Bowden was the victor.

In other results, Noe Scheen defeated England’s Kye Arnold 3-0 in a quality final.

The English Subbuteo Association would like to thank all participants, and hopes to see you at our next event.

Saturday, 18 January 2014

Den Mulia visits Malaysia

The newly-formed Hartamas Subbuteo Club in Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia) had the visit of Yusni Den Mulia this week-end. The best Asian player of the moment spent some time playing and teaching the game with the current group of players. There are positive signs of development in Malaysia and there are good chances to see the first tournament in the country in the near future.

Monday, 13 January 2014

Statement about Champions League and Europa League 2014

Message from the FISTF Board of Directors
To: the national associations and players

Subject: FISTF Champions League/Europa League 2014

Dear Friends,
we would like to inform you the FISTF BoD has been notified by FFFTS that CFT Puylaurens will not be able to organize the CL/EL 2014.

Consequently, FISTF BoD is obliged to re-issue a call for candidates for the organization of CL/EL 2014. Nominations' folders must be sent to FISTF secretary ( no later than Friday January 24, 2014, midnight.

We hope that we will have the anticipated response from Nations, so that very soon FISTF BoD will be able to announce the place and time of the event.

Our best regards,

FISTF Board of Directors

Sunday, 12 January 2014

Valéry Dejardin wins the Open of Verviers

The Belgian national association organized an International Open for individuals only in the premises of SC Verviers-Herve on saturday with more than 65 players taking part. Valéry Dejardin (JSC Rochefort) beat French player Grégory Puissant in the Open final (1-0). The finals in the other categories were as follows:
Veterans: Alain Jadot - Benoit Massart 3-1
U19: Nathan Dizier - Romain Threis 1-1 (Dizier won on shots)
U15: Antoine Martin - Arnaud Threis 3-2 (sudden death)
U12: Noé Scheen - Kimberley Devreese 8-0
Ladies: Lydie Pinchart - Emilie Despretz 2-2 (Pinchart won on shots)
The final four of the Open category: David Fraikin, Valéri Dejardin, Justin Leroy, Grégory Puissant

Sunday, 5 January 2014

Björn Kegenbein wins in Vienna

The Grand Prix of Austria takes place this week-end in Vienna and the individual tournament was played on saturday. Björn Kegenbein from Germany beat Wolfgang Leitner in the final of the Open category (3-1) to win the title. Robert Lenz beat Claudio Dogali (2-1) in the veterans final and Trisha Baumeler (Switzerland) was the ladies winner.
Leitner and Kegenbein in the Open final

The podium of the Ladies section (picture by Heinz Köhler)

In the youth, Alwin Krause and Marios Strommer dominated the tournament. Krause beat Strommer in the U15 final while Strommer beat Krause in the U12 section.

On sunday, the team event was a very international affair with the Italian team of Sanremo beating the Germans of Sparta Spreeathen in the final. Well done to the organizers for a great tournament!

A lot of great pictures can be found here:!/oa/7007765/media/97220529/

Thursday, 2 January 2014

New Board in England

January 2014 is a very important date for english subbuteo as the ESA Board has been affected by some changes. After Justin Finch (president), Danny Lilley has been chosen to become the new chairman of the association.

The new ESA Board consists now of Danny Lilley, Terry Arnold (General Manager), Jeremy Bradley (sports officer), Ben Staples and Rob McCormick (Welfare officers).

The full statement can be found here:

FISTF would like to wish good luck to the new ESA Board and congratulate the past Board for the excellent work made over the last few years.